UK Imaging Informatics Group
Questions regarding a paper by Dr.Nee... PreviousNext
UK Imaging Informatics Group > Questions & Answers > PACS Integration & Standards >
Message/Author
 Link to this message John Lai  posted on Wednesday, January 09, 2013 - 07:31 pm Edit Post Delete Post Print Post
I am a researcher based in US. I came across an article titled “Next Generation PACS & PACS Migration” by Dr. Neelam Dugar from this newsgroup (http://www.healthcareconferencesuk.co.uk/presentations/downloads/Dr_Neelam_Dugar .pdf). It was written exactly one year ago. I have a “few” questions regarding this article. Very much appreciated if Dr. Dugar and/or others can provide some feedback.

Questions:
1/ From Page 3, currently radiologist should be able to access/view patient’s clinical records from the EPR on one of the screens (Dr. Dugar had 3 separate screens/systems, for illustration). Why on Page 9, the article said in the future, “with adoption of XDS, radiologist can access to XDS based EPR”? Shouldn’t user able to access clinical data from EPR now on one of the screens currently? Plus on Page 28, “PACS Radiology Data Silo” the paper said “Today PACS is producing a radiology data silo as it is separate from the rest of the clinical record.” I am a bit confused here.
2/ Or was the author implying with XDS based EPR, users can have patient’s clinical data (from the EPR system) be display along side with the DICOM images on the RIS or PACS system? Is this the rationale the author said “This improves radiologists reporting accuracy & patient safety” on Page 11? Is this the reason why on Page 47 (Future PACS: CDA display), the paper said “In future radiology reports must have a proper document structure when displayed by PACS”?